top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Wells

Redundancy

#Redundancy, it's one of those words that fills all workers with fear.


I found out in January that the company I worked for was being sold and the offices were moving to the Midlands. Initially I cried; what would I do next, where would I go etc but the biggie for me was that I've known my bosses for nearly 20 years. We're mates, we've shared our lives and some awesome adventures together over the years! We're similar ages and had this story that the company would eventually be sold, we'd go on one last adventure and live out our retirements.


But hey; I'm a positive kind of person and by the time I'd got home after receiving the news I was buzzing with excitement! Mini me number 2 said I was the #happiest redundant person he'd ever seen!


You see I don't have big balls; the kind where you throw caution to the wind and take hold of things. I'd been getting more disappointed with the balance I had with #life and #work; its one of those jobs where you can't walk away at 5pm and forget everything. I'd often be in the office until 6/7pm every night then have an hours drive home. I regularly resolved issues that come up via email at weekends or sat on top of a mountain ... I never switched off, and that's not a bad thing because I loved my job and I loved the people I worked with and for.


So guys I hatched a plan and even I have to admit it's a pretty epic one! I'll be taking a gap year; who said gap years were just for kids ... all those long distance walks I couldn't do because I didn't have enough annual leave will be conquered, the sunny days I've sat at the desk of doom will be spent hiking, I'll do my Mountain Leader Assessment, stomp over mountains, spend more time with family and friends and step off the hamster wheel of life for 12 months and make a few memories, push myself and have some fun ... I always think things happen for a reason; how you look at the situation defines how you tackle it and ultimately how it affects you. I feel I've been given such an amazing gift with my redundancy; the gift to live the life for one year that I've dreamed of but never thought possible for a long time.



100 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page