top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Wells

Poor Norman

The Beast is always attached to me; there's a reason for this guys which you'll soon pick up on ... she hates the world and his dog! (today it was another dog)


We left Pen y Pass car park at 5am in the morning; it was dark but with the help of a head torch and a full moon we easily navigated our way up the Pyg Track to the summit of #Snowdon. It was one of the most beautiful sunrises I've ever witnessed and we even had a meteor shower over our heads as we walked, it was a perfect morning.


Arriving on a deserted summit we made our way up to the trig and took a few selfies before settling down to enjoy our breakfast and a mug of tea.


To this day I still don't know why I unclipped the Beasts lead from her collar; I just thought it would be nice for her to have a wander around the summit and enjoy the solitude and rarity of having the mountain summit to ourselves. Well I'm sat there eating my #hobnob, enjoying the views and smiling at the Beast as any proud parent would ... and then Norman arrived!


Norman the chocolate Labrador complete with his 2.4 family stepped onto the summit; the children smiling excitedly at their accomplishment, the parents patting each other on the back that they had managed to get both children up to the highest mountain in Wales without all falling out. Before I could swallow my mouthful of hobnob the Beast was off! It took me a minute to remember that she wasn't attached to me and as she flew through the air towards Normans jugular a very dark cloud came over my head. Norman in his terrified state at the thought of having his neck sliced open made a run for it ... over the side of the summit of Snowdon.


The 2.4 family and I stared in horror as Norman tumbled over the side; luckily for Norman there just happened to be a sheep grazing right under where he fell. The sheep broke Normans fall and thankfully the sheep was only slightly concussed.


And then the fun really started; the Beast realised the error of her actions immediately and decided to make a run for it. The Beast is running away from me and I'm running after her, the 2.4 family are staring on in utter amazement and poor Norman is in a dazed state as he managed to find his way back to the summit. I eventually caught the Beast, I offer my apologies and help to the 2.4 family who very unkindly asked me to just go away and take my vicious dog with me ... taking this as the easiest option I retreated to the edge of the summit where I called the Beast a few horrible words, but then felt guilty about saying such horrible things so we shared the last of the hobnobs and got off the summit and away from Norman and his 2.4 family as fast as the Beasts little legs would carry her ... I have learnt my lesson guys and will never, ever unleash the Beast again!




61 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page