top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa Wells

Time

Time ... our lives seem to revolve around this 4 letter word.


From an early age the concept and importance of #time is embedded into our genes; even as babies we're fed every 4 hours.


As adults we have our start and finish hours of work; our #alarm goes off at 6am, we eat breakfast at 7am, lunch at 12pm, dinner at 6pm and go to bed at 10.30pm. In between dinner and bed we might have a favourite TV programme at 7.30pm. We're told we need 8 hours of sleep every night ... you get the idea?


I was lucky enough to walk Hadrian's Wall a few years ago and didn't wear a watch. For one whole week my life wasn't governed by time; I got up when I woke, I ate when I was hungry and went to bed when I was tired ... its such a simple thing to do isn't it, but then I really struggled to adapt back into the rigidity of time when I returned home.


Since finishing work in February, I've tried to adapt this timeless life as much as I can. I don't wear a watch and I listen to what my body wants rather than what the dial on my wrist is telling me and I'm enjoying it. My hiking days have no time on them; I take as long as I want, stop for a break when my body tells me, eat when my tummy rumbles and head home when the light starts to fade or my mountain smile is as big as its going to get.


So how about you give it a go guy? Plan one day when you can leave your watch in the bedside drawer and listen to your body rather then the ticking of a clock.



40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page